Cricket World Cup Winners List from 1975 to 2021

Cricket World Cup Winners List

International cricket championship held at four-year intervals that is the premier contest in one-day cricket and one of the most-watched sporting events in the world.

Here we present the list of Cricket World Cup winners. Cricket World Cup was contested for the first time in England in 1975. It was played as a series of one-day matches of 60 overs per side. It was held outside England, in India and Pakistan, for the first time in 1987.

Cricket World Cup Winners List: Overview

In 2007 Australia became the first team to win three consecutive World Cup tournaments. There are 12 World Cup tournaments being held to date. Australia is the most successful country which won 5 World Cups. India & West Indies are the only two countries which have won the world cup 2 times each. India won the World Cup in 1983 and 2011, while West Indies won in 1975 and 1979. The last world Cup held in 2019 was won by England.

ICC World Cup

YearWinnerWinner’s scoreWinning
Runner-upR/Up’s scoreFinal venueHost nation(s)Crowd
1975 West Indies291/8 (60 overs)17 runs Australia274 all out (58.4 overs)Lord’s, LondonEngland24,000
1979 West Indies286/9 (60 overs)92 runs England194 all out (51 overs)Lord’s, LondonEngland32,000
1983 India183 all out (55th over)43 runs West Indies140 all out (52 overs)Lord’s, LondonEngland30,000
1987 Australia253/5 (50 overs)7 runs England246/8 (50 overs)Eden Gardens, KolkataIndia, Pakistan95,000
1992 Pakistan249/6 (50 overs)22 runs England227 all out (49.2 overs)MCG, Melbourne Australia, New Zealand87,182
1996 Sri Lanka245/3 (46.2 overs)7 wickets Australia241/7 (50 overs)Gaddafi Stadium, Lahore daggerPakistan, India, Sri Lanka62,645
1999 Australia133/2 (20.1 overs)8 wickets Pakistan132 all out (39 overs)Lord’s, LondonEngland30,000
2003 Australia359/2 (50 overs)125 runs India234 all out (39.2 overs)Wanderers, JohannesburgSouth Africa32,827
2007 Australia281/4 (38 overs)53 runs  Sri Lanka215/8 (36 overs)Kensington Oval, BarbadosWest Indies28,108
2011 India277/4 (48.2 overs)6 wickets Sri Lanka274/6 (50 overs)Wankhede Stadium, Mumbai daggerIndia, Sri Lanka, Bangladesh42,000
2015 Australia186/3 (33.1 overs)7 wickets New Zealand183 all out (45 overs)MCG, Melbourne daggerAustralia, New Zealand93,013
2019 England241 all out (50 overs)Tiebreak: 9 fours New Zealand241/8 (50 overs)Lord’s, LondonEngland, WalesN/A
Note: the World Cups hosted by England (1983, 1999) and South Africa (2003) also had some matches played in Wales, Scotland, Ireland, Netherlands, Zimbabwe and Kenya

Results by country

National teamFinal appearancesWinnersRunners-upYears wonYears runners-up
 Australia7521987, 1999, 2003, 2007, 20151975, 1996
 India3211983, 20112003
 West Indies3211975, 19791983
 England41320191979, 1987, 1992
 Sri Lanka31219962007, 2011
 New Zealand2022015, 2019

Debutant teams

1975 Australia,  East Africa, England,  India,  New Zealand,  Pakistan,  West Indies,  Sri Lanka
1979 Canada
1983 Zimbabwe
1992 South Africa
1996 Kenya,  Netherlands,  United Arab Emirates
1999 Bangladesh,  Scotland
2003 Namibia
2007 Bermuda,  Ireland
2015 Afghanistan

Man of the tournament

Since 1992, one player has been declared as the “Man of the Tournament” at the end of the World Cup finals.

YearPlayerPerformance details
1992 Martin Crowe456 runs
1996 Sanath Jayasuriya221 runs and 7 wickets
1999 Lance Klusener281 runs and 17 wickets
2003 Sachin Tendulkar673 runs and 2 wickets
2007 Glenn McGrath26 wickets
2011 Yuvraj Singh362 runs and 15 wickets
2015 Mitchell Starc22 wickets
2019 Kane Williamson578 runs and 2 wickets
Man of the tournament

Man of the Match in the Final

There were no Man of the Tournament awards before 1992 but Man of the Match awards have always been given for individual matches. As of the 2019 tournament, the award has always made to a member of the winning side. The Man of the Match of the finals of the competition have been:

YearPlayerPerformance details
1975 Clive Lloyd102
1979 Viv Richards138*
1983 Mohinder Amarnath3/12 and 26
1987 David Boon75
1992 Wasim Akram33 and 3/49
1996 Aravinda de Silva107* and 3/42
1999 Shane Warne4/33
2003 Ricky Ponting140*
2007 Adam Gilchrist149
2011 M S Dhoni91*
2015 James Faulkner3/36
2019 Ben Stokes84* and 0/20

Tournament records:

World Cup records

Most runs Sachin Tendulkar2,278 (1992–2011)
Highest average (min. 10 inns.) Lance Klusener124.00 (1999–2003)
Highest score Martin Guptill v  West Indies237* (2015)
Highest partnership Chris Gayle & Marlon Samuels
(2nd wicket) v  Zimbabwe
372 (2015)
Most runs in a single world cup Sachin Tendulkar673 (2003)
Most hundreds Rohit Sharma
 Sachin Tendulkar
6 (2015–2019)
6 (1992–2011)
Most hundreds in a single world cup Rohit Sharma5 (2019)
Most wickets Glenn McGrath71 (1996–2007)
Lowest average (min. 400 balls bowled) Mitchell Starc14.81 (2015–2019)
Best strike rate (min. 20 wickets) Mohammed Shami18.6 (2015–2019)
Best economy rate (min. 1000 balls bowled) Andy Roberts3.24 (1975–1983)
Best bowling figures Glenn McGrath v  Namibia7/15 (2003)
Most wickets in a tournament Mitchell Starc27 (2019)
Most dismissals (wicket-keeper) Kumar Sangakkara54 (2003–2015)
Most catches (fielder) Ricky Ponting28 (1996–2011)
Highest score Australia v  Afghanistan417/6 (2015)
Lowest score Canada v  Sri Lanka36 (2003)
Highest win % Australia74.73% (Played 94, Won 69)
Most consecutive wins Australia27 (20 Jun 1999 – 19 Mar 2011, one N/R excluded)
Most consecutive tournament wins Australia3 (1999–2007)

Won tournament

100% win record
TeamYearMatches played
 Sri Lanka(1996)8
 West Indies(1975)5
 West Indies(1979)5

2023 Cricket World Cup

The 2023 ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup will be the 13th edition of the men’s Cricket World Cup, scheduled to be hosted by India during October and November 2023. This will be the first time the competition is held entirely in India. Three previous editions were partially hosted there – 1987, 1996, and 2011. Originally, the tournament was scheduled to be played from 9 February to 26 March 2023;but, in July 2020 it was announced that the tournament would be delayed to an October–November window, with reports citing the disruption of the qualification schedule due to the COVID-19 pandemic.

Also Read: IPL Winner List from 2008-2021 detailed analysis – StatisticsPress

Official International Cricket Council Website